According to Archives Canada, "In 1883, John Ewart moved west with the rails. He met Thomas Tweed in Winnipeg, and the two proceeded further west together, first by rail, then by horse and buggy. The two arrived in Medicine Hat before the CPR, and established a general store in a tent on the riverbank. The business was called "Tweed and Ewart". John Ewart married Jessie Herald, the daughter of the local Presbyterian Minister James Herald in 1887. Their home, a red brick house now located at 443 1st Street SE, was also built the same year." After the death of Mr. and Mrs. Ewart, their daughter Jacqueline and her husband Hector O. Duggan lived in the home.
Explore the interior of the historic house here.
|View of the courthouse from the Heritage Garden.|
|Ewart Duggan House ca. 1910|
|One of the Duggan children carved this into the brick in 1928.|